Community Award Recipients



2016 Award Recipients


President’s Cup, Rachel Epstein
Stephen Brent Jacobson Scholarship Award, Drew Abramson
Robert J. Agger Memorial Award, Matthew Riggle
Karen M. Lerman Volunteer Award, Diane & Donald Gotelli
Linda and Joel Abromson Award, Russell Kaback
Richard D. Aronson Young Leadership Award, Margaret Hathaway


  • President’s Cup- Rachel Epstein

  • Richard D. Aronson Young Leadership Award- Margaret Hathaway

  • Linda and Joel Abromson Award- Russell Kaback

Community Awards

2016 Jewish Community Alliance Recognition Awards Nominations and Applications Deadline: April 18, 2016

Linda and Joel Abromson Award

Funds projects that allow adult applicants the opportunity to explore their Jewish Spirit in a unique and creative way.

Richard D. Aronson Young Leader Award

Recognizes a young (25 to 45) community leader who demonstrates commitment to Jewish Federation and Southern Maine’s Jewish community.

The Karen M. Lerman Volunteer Award

Recognizes a member of the community who has gone "above and beyond" on behalf of the Jewish Community.

Fistal Family Nursing Scholarship

Presented annually to a Jewish high school senior (or – an individual) who plans to become a Registered Nurse and is applying to a secondary school that awards an Associate’s or Bachelor’s Degree in Nursing.

Stephen Brent Jacobson Scholarship Award

The Jewish Community Alliance and the Jacobson Family established a scholarship fund and award to be given to a graduating high school senior who best exemplifies Stephen's ideas, compassion, leadership and desire.

The President's Cup Scholarship Award

The President's Cup award is presented to a graduating high school senior who has attained the highest grade point average during his or her high school career.

The Robert J. Agger Memorial Award

The Robert J. Agger Memorial Award is presented to a graduating high school senior who has displayed sportsmanship, leadership and athletic ability throughout his or her high school career.